Career, NaBloPoMo, NaNoWriMo

You Have as Many Hours in a Day as Beyonce

Beyonce

I get that this is supposed to motivate one to strive for more and do better, but it annoys me. Yes, Bey and I each have 24 hours in a day. And yes, Bey’s success is worlds above what I’ve managed to achieve though we’re of similar age. But why must I be shamed into believing that my not reaching Bey-level success has to do with a lack of drive, focus, or hard work? Why the comparison? Why the put-down? Bey’s achievements are incredible, but they do not negate what I’ve accomplished. My accomplishments are also valuable. And as I think of what’s ahead, the only person I’m in competition with is me.

NaBloPoMo_November

Standard

Leave a Reply

