BlogHer, Discipline, Habit, NaBloPoMo, NaNoWriMo, writing

New Habit Requires Discipline

Captain’s Log. Haha, just kidding.

I was *so* tempted to skip the 4th day of NaBloPoMo but then I remembered the promise to myself prompted by 2HelpfulGuys’ Forget Motivation, Remember Discipline post: even if I only write a couple of words, I will write every single day this month.

This is about forming the habit of being disciplined with my writing schedule. A habit that can take anywhere from two to eight months to become automatic. While research shows that “missing one opportunity to perform the behavior did not materially affect the habit formation process,” I’d rather not subconsciously give myself permission to make excuses for not following through.

It’s great to know that skipping today (or another day in the future) will not derail this process, but I’ll pretend that’s not so for the sake of productivity.

What about you? Are you trying to develop a new (good? I hope.) habit this month? This year? How’s it going?

Quotation-John-C-Maxwell-discipline-great-time-day-Meetville-Quotes-4284

NaBloPoMo_November

Standard

Leave a Reply

