Author, Goals, Write, Writer, writing

We make time for what we truly want.


Image

What do I truly want right now? Cake. I want cake. Focus. I mean, I want to finish editing this novel. Last year’s goal was to complete a first draft. Succeeded! I haven’t made much progress since, unfortunately. However, I refuse to waste time on excuses; I’m instead focusing on putting strategies in place to achieve this year’s goal. This article I happened upon today has some key points to help.

1. Start with a small goal

My novel Accepting Elijah’s Heart started out as a single chapter for Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write contest. While it did not proceed to the next phase *not bitter*, it was the small step towards the document that lives today.

To make the editing process more manageable, I am breaking it down into the smaller goal of one chapter a week.

2. Consistency trumps everything

According to the article, “Everything we see about success rate says that the most important thing is to structure your goals so you can be consistent.”

Goal: Edit one chapter a week.

Structure:

1. Read that chapter aloud daily.

2. Modify at least one paragraph daily.

3. Schedule it and create an automatic reminder

I had already decided to schedule my editing time from 7-9 A.M. daily, right after my hour of prayer and reading the Word. Now it’s time to be consistent with it.

Small goal: get to bed by 11.

Structure:

1. Shut down all electronics by 10. Did I just say that? I think I did. O.O


Image

2. Have alarm clock set for 6 A.M.

3. Don’t hit the snooze button!!!!

I think this is all doable. I just have to start. Lord, please give me strength. Seriously.

What do you truly want? How are you making it happen?

Standard

Leave a Reply

